news


Live streaming Pujas

During this period of the pandemic we intend to offer regular live streaming of our Evening Pujas. The exact link which you need to use will possibly change from time to time so please check our website calendar for details.

New Moon and Full Moon Days

New Moon and Full Moon Days are usually quiet days at this monastery. Typically this means residents and guests are free to structure the day as they find useful: formal meditation, reading, going for walks. Normally there are no group work projects nor the usual morning and evening chanting. Meal times are as usual.

Paritta Chanting

The sangha regularly recites the traditional ‘Blessing Chants’ each Sunday before the meal. All are welcome to join in.

Beginners’ Meditation Class

Usually on each first Sunday of the month instruction is given for those new to meditation. There is no need to book in advance and all teachings are freely given led by Dr. Adrian Bint. The class takes place in the Shrine room at Kusala House (Guest House) and is followed by Evening Puja with the monastic community in the Main Dhamma Hall for those who wish to participate.

Lake Work Day

One Saturday each month, from April through to December, is booked into our calendar for focusing on working down at the lake. It is a community project with resident monastic sangha, lay guests and visitors taking part. Usually it begins at 8.30 am with a break for the shared meal around 11am. Afternoon work goes from about 1pm to 4 pm, depending on weather and time of year. All welcome to participate. It is good to bring wellington boots and suitable clothing.

Silent Practice Weeks

Several periods throughout the year are dedicated to cultivating noble silence at the monastery. These times are set aside specifically to help us remember that the inner work is the priority. It does not mean absolutely nobody will speak whatever the circumstance, though we do hope visitors will tune into the spirit of our commitment and support the silence.

calendar


See here for full calendar
Wed, 27 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Thu, 28 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Fri, 29 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Waning Moon
Sat, 30 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Thu, 04 Nov
New Moon
Sun, 07 Nov
17:30No Beginners' Meditation Class until further notice
Fri, 12 Nov
Waxing Moon
Fri, 19 Nov
Full Moon
Sat, 27 Nov
Waning Moon
Sat, 04 Dec
New Moon
Sun, 05 Dec
17:30No Beginners' Meditation Class until further notice
Sun, 12 Dec
Waxing Moon
Mon, 13 Dec
Silent Retreat Week
Tue, 14 Dec
Silent Retreat Week
Wed, 15 Dec
Silent Retreat Week
Thu, 16 Dec
Silent Retreat Week
Fri, 17 Dec
Silent Retreat Week
Sat, 18 Dec
Silent Retreat Week
Sun, 19 Dec
Full Moon
Mon, 27 Dec
Waning Moon
Fri, 31 Dec
19:00Meditation and Chanting with Dhamma talk and Forgiveness and Aspiration ceremony
Sat, 01 Jan
15:00Public New Years' Gathering (see announcement)
Sun, 02 Jan
New Moon
17:30No Beginners' Meditation Class until further notice
Mon, 10 Jan
Waxing Moon
Sun, 16 Jan
Ajahn Chah memorial Day
Mon, 17 Jan
Full Moon