news


New Moon and Full Moon Days

New Moon and Full Moon Days are usually quiet days at this monastery. Typically this means residents and guests are free to structure the day as they find useful: formal meditation, reading, going for walks. Normally there are no group work projects nor the usual morning and evening chanting. Meal times are as usual.

Paritta Chanting

The sangha regularly recites the traditional ‘Blessing Chants’ each Sunday before the meal. All are welcome to join in.

Beginners’ Meditation Class

Usually on each first Sunday of the month instruction is given for those new to meditation. There is no need to book in advance and all teachings are freely given led by Dr. Adrian Bint. The class takes place in the Shrine room at Kusala House (Guest House) and is followed by Evening Puja with the monastic community in the Main Dhamma Hall for those who wish to participate.

Lake Work Day

One Saturday each month, from April through to December, is booked into our calendar for focusing on working down at the lake. It is a community project with resident monastic sangha, lay guests and visitors taking part. Usually it begins at 8.30 am with a break for the shared meal around 11am. Afternoon work goes from about 1pm to 4 pm, depending on weather and time of year. All welcome to participate. It is good to bring wellington boots and suitable clothing.

Silent Practice Weeks

Several periods throughout the year are dedicated to cultivating noble silence at the monastery. These times are set aside specifically to help us remember that the inner work is the priority. It does not mean absolutely nobody will speak whatever the circumstance, though we do hope visitors will tune into the spirit of our commitment and support the silence.

calendar


See here for full calendar
Mon, 23 May
Waning Moon
Mon, 30 May
New Moon
Sun, 05 Jun
17:30No Beginners' Meditation Class until further notice
Tue, 07 Jun
Waxing Moon
Tue, 14 Jun
Full Moon
Fri, 17 Jun
Birthday - Ajahn Chah
Wed, 22 Jun
Waning Moon
Tue, 28 Jun
New Moon
Sun, 03 Jul
17:30No Beginners' Meditation Class until further notice
Wed, 06 Jul
Waxing Moon
Wed, 13 Jul
Āsāḷha Pūjā
Full Moon
Thu, 14 Jul
First day of Vassa
Thu, 21 Jul
Waning Moon
Thu, 28 Jul
New Moon
Fri, 05 Aug
Waxing Moon
Sun, 07 Aug
17:30No Beginners' Meditation Class until further notice
Fri, 12 Aug
Full Moon