news


Live streaming Pujas

During this period of the pandemic we intend to offer regular live streaming of our Evening Pujas. The exact link which you need to use will possibly change from time to time so please check our website calendar for details.

New Moon and Full Moon Days

New Moon and Full Moon Days are usually quiet days at this monastery. Typically this means residents and guests are free to structure the day as they find useful: formal meditation, reading, going for walks. Normally there are no group work projects nor the usual morning and evening chanting. Meal times are as usual.

Paritta Chanting

The sangha regularly recites the traditional ‘Blessing Chants’ each Sunday before the meal. All are welcome to join in.

Beginners’ Meditation Class

Usually on each first Sunday of the month instruction is given for those new to meditation. There is no need to book in advance and all teachings are freely given led by Dr. Adrian Bint. The class takes place in the Shrine room at Kusala House (Guest House) and is followed by Evening Puja with the monastic community in the Main Dhamma Hall for those who wish to participate.

Lake Work Day

One Saturday each month, from April through to December, is booked into our calendar for focusing on working down at the lake. It is a community project with resident monastic sangha, lay guests and visitors taking part. Usually it begins at 8.30 am with a break for the shared meal around 11am. Afternoon work goes from about 1pm to 4 pm, depending on weather and time of year. All welcome to participate. It is good to bring wellington boots and suitable clothing.

Silent Practice Weeks

Several periods throughout the year are dedicated to cultivating noble silence at the monastery. These times are set aside specifically to help us remember that the inner work is the priority. It does not mean absolutely nobody will speak whatever the circumstance, though we do hope visitors will tune into the spirit of our commitment and support the silence.

calendar


See here for full calendar
Tue, 21 Sep
Full Moon
Mon, 27 Sep
Silent Retreat Week
Tue, 28 Sep
Silent Retreat Week
Wed, 29 Sep
Silent Retreat Week
Waning Moon
Thu, 30 Sep
Silent Retreat Week
Fri, 01 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Sat, 02 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Sun, 03 Oct
17:30No Beginners' Meditation Class until further notice
Wed, 06 Oct
New Moon
Thu, 14 Oct
Waxing Moon
Thu, 21 Oct
Last day of Vassa
Full Moon
Pavāraṇā Day
Mon, 25 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Tue, 26 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Wed, 27 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Thu, 28 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Fri, 29 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Waning Moon
Sat, 30 Oct
Silent Retreat Week
Thu, 04 Nov
New Moon
Sun, 07 Nov
17:30No Beginners' Meditation Class until further notice
Fri, 12 Nov
Waxing Moon
Fri, 19 Nov
Full Moon
Sat, 27 Nov
Waning Moon
Sat, 04 Dec
New Moon
Sun, 05 Dec
17:30No Beginners' Meditation Class until further notice
Sun, 12 Dec
Waxing Moon