news


New Moon and Full Moon Days

New Moon and Full Moon Days are usually quiet days at this monastery. Typically this means residents and guests are free to structure the day as they find useful: formal meditation, reading, going for walks. Normally there are no group work projects nor the usual morning and evening chanting. Meal times are as usual.

Paritta Chanting

The sangha regularly recites the traditional ‘Blessing Chants’ each Sunday before the meal. All are welcome to join in.

Beginners’ Meditation Class

Usually on each first Sunday of the month instruction is given for those new to meditation. There is no need to book in advance and all teachings are freely given led by Dr. Adrian Bint. The class takes place in the Shrine room at Kusala House (Guest House) and is followed by Evening Puja with the monastic community in the Main Dhamma Hall for those who wish to participate.

Lake Work Day

One Saturday each month, from April through to December, is booked into our calendar for focusing on working down at the lake. It is a community project with resident monastic sangha, lay guests and visitors taking part. Usually it begins at 8.30 am with a break for the shared meal around 11am. Afternoon work goes from about 1pm to 4 pm, depending on weather and time of year. All welcome to participate. It is good to bring wellington boots and suitable clothing.

Silent Practice Weeks

Several periods throughout the year are dedicated to cultivating noble silence at the monastery. These times are set aside specifically to help us remember that the inner work is the priority. It does not mean absolutely nobody will speak whatever the circumstance, though we do hope visitors will tune into the spirit of our commitment and support the silence.

calendar


See here for full calendar
Sat, 21 Sep
Waning Moon
Sun, 22 Sep
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Sat, 28 Sep
New Moon
Sun, 29 Sep
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Mon, 30 Sep
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Tue, 01 Oct
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
11:00The resident community will be away for the mid-day meal
Wed, 02 Oct
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Thu, 03 Oct
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Fri, 04 Oct
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Sat, 05 Oct
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Sun, 06 Oct
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Waxing Moon
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:30Beginners' Meditation Class
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Sat, 12 Oct
Garden & Lakeside work day
Sun, 13 Oct
Full Moon
Pavāraṇā Day
Last day of Vassa
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Sun, 20 Oct
10:00Kathina Festival
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Mon, 21 Oct
Waning Moon
Sat, 26 Oct
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Abhinando
Sun, 27 Oct
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Abhinando
New Moon
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Mon, 28 Oct
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Abhinando
Tue, 29 Oct
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Abhinando
Wed, 30 Oct
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Abhinando
Thu, 31 Oct
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Abhinando
Fri, 01 Nov
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Abhinando
Sun, 03 Nov
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:30Beginners' Meditation Class
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Mon, 04 Nov
Waxing Moon
Tue, 05 Nov
The resident community will be away for the mid-day meal
Sat, 09 Nov
Garden & Lakeside work day
Sun, 10 Nov
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Mon, 11 Nov
Full Moon
Sun, 17 Nov
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Tue, 19 Nov
Waning Moon
Sun, 24 Nov
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Mon, 25 Nov
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Tue, 26 Nov
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
New Moon
Wed, 27 Nov
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Thu, 28 Nov
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Fri, 29 Nov
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Sat, 30 Nov
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Sun, 01 Dec
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
17:30Beginners' Meditation Class
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Tue, 03 Dec
The resident community will be away for the mid-day meal
Wed, 04 Dec
Waxing Moon
Sat, 07 Dec
Garden & Lakeside work day
Sun, 08 Dec
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Wed, 11 Dec
Full Moon
Sun, 15 Dec
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja