news


New Moon and Full Moon Days

New Moon and Full Moon Days are usually quiet days at this monastery. Typically this means residents and guests are free to structure the day as they find useful: formal meditation, reading, going for walks. Normally there are no group work projects nor the usual morning and evening chanting. Meal times are as usual.

Paritta Chanting

The sangha regularly recites the traditional ‘Blessing Chants’ each Sunday before the meal. All are welcome to join in.

Beginners’ Meditation Class

Usually on each first Sunday of the month instruction is given for those new to meditation. There is no need to book in advance and all teachings are freely given led by Dr. Adrian Bint. The class takes place in the Shrine room at Kusala House (Guest House) and is followed by Evening Puja with the monastic community in the Main Dhamma Hall for those who wish to participate.

Lake Work Day

One Saturday each month, from April through to December, is booked into our calendar for focusing on working down at the lake. It is a community project with resident monastic sangha, lay guests and visitors taking part. Usually it begins at 8.30 am with a break for the shared meal around 11am. Afternoon work goes from about 1pm to 4 pm, depending on weather and time of year. All welcome to participate. It is good to bring wellington boots and suitable clothing.

Silent Practice Weeks

Several periods throughout the year are dedicated to cultivating noble silence at the monastery. These times are set aside specifically to help us remember that the inner work is the priority. It does not mean absolutely nobody will speak whatever the circumstance, though we do hope visitors will tune into the spirit of our commitment and support the silence.

calendar


See here for full calendar
Sat, 15 Jun
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Vimalo at Kusala House
Sun, 16 Jun
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Mon, 17 Jun
Full Moon
Birthday - Ajahn Chah
Sun, 23 Jun
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Tue, 25 Jun
Waning Moon
Sun, 30 Jun
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Mon, 01 Jul
New Moon
Tue, 02 Jul
The resident community will be away for the mid-day meal
Sat, 06 Jul
Lakeside work day
Sun, 07 Jul
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:30Beginners' Meditation Class
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Tue, 09 Jul
Waxing Moon
Sun, 14 Jul
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Tue, 16 Jul
Full Moon
Āsāḷha Pūjā
Wed, 17 Jul
First day of Vassa
Sun, 21 Jul
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Wed, 24 Jul
Waning Moon
Sun, 28 Jul
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Mon, 29 Jul
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Tue, 30 Jul
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Wed, 31 Jul
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
New Moon
Thu, 01 Aug
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Fri, 02 Aug
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Sat, 03 Aug
Silent Monastic Retreat Week
Lakeside work day
Sun, 04 Aug
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:30Beginners' Meditation Class
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Tue, 06 Aug
The resident community will be away for the mid-day meal
Thu, 08 Aug
Waxing Moon
Sun, 11 Aug
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Thu, 15 Aug
Full Moon
Sun, 18 Aug
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Fri, 23 Aug
Waning Moon
Sun, 25 Aug
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Thu, 29 Aug
New Moon
Sun, 01 Sep
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Punnyo at Kusala House
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:30Beginners' Meditation Class
19:00Public Evn. Puja
Mon, 02 Sep
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Punnyo at Kusala House
Tue, 03 Sep
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Punnyo at Kusala House
11:30The resident community will be away for the mid-day meal
Wed, 04 Sep
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Punnyo at Kusala House
Thu, 05 Sep
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Punnyo at Kusala House
Fri, 06 Sep
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Punnyo at Kusala House
Waxing Moon
Sat, 07 Sep
Lay Retreat led by Ajahn Punnyo at Kusala House
Sun, 08 Sep
11:15Paritta Chanting
11:30Midday meal offering
17:00Q&A with a community resident
19:00Public Evn. Puja